Van Galder set to defend city golf title

Comments Comments Print Print
John Barry
Thursday, July 27, 2017

You have to go back 26 years to find the last time someone won the Janesville Men's City Golf Tournament three years in a row.


Former Janesville resident Mike Sipe won the event in 1989, 1990 and 1991.


Sam Van Galder has a chance to the end the drought in this weekend's 54-hole tournament that begins today at the Janesville Country Club.


Round two is Saturday at Glen Erin, with Sunday's 18-hole finale slated for Riverside.


Van Galder has won the tournament five of the last seven years and is one of three former champions in the field. Brent Kern (1997) and Ryan Coffey (2002) are the other two.


If Van Galder can win his third straight title, he would join Chris Pastore and Gregg Clatworthy as seven-time winners. Jan Hoffman is the all-time leader with nine.


Van Galder is cautiously optimistic about his chances.


"With the final round at Riverside, it could lead to some real fireworks on Sunday," Van Galder said. "And I think seven of us playing in the tournament this year made the cut at the Ray Fischer last month, which has to be a record for local golfers.


"I'm confident I'll be in the mix on Sunday, but I definitely see this as a very wide open city tourney for the first time in awhile, which is exciting for everyone."


Flights will be determined based on total gross score after Saturday's second round at Glen Erin.


The low 25 percent of the field advance to the Championship Flight, with the remaining golfers divided into the First, Second or Third Flight.



1950—Rockwell Collins; 1951—Mel Waggoner; 1952—Harold Kotwitz; 1953—Kenneth Kubitz;


1954—John Nolan; 1955—John Nolan; 1956—Harold Kotwitz; 1957—Lyle Gifford;


1958—Harold Kotwitz; 1959—Harold Kotwitz.


1960—Harold Kotwitz; 1961—Jan Hoffman; 1962—Jan Hoffman; 1963—Jan Hoffman;


1964—Jan Hoffman; 1965—Jan Hoffman; 1966—Lyle Gifford; 1967—Jan Hoffman; 1968—Jan


Hoffman; 1969—Dan Nitz.


1970—Jan Hoffman; 1971—Mike Medrow; 1972—Lyle Gifford; 1973—Gregg Clatworthy;


1974—Harold Kotwitz; 1975—Jan Hoffman; 1976—Steve Babcock; 1977—Gregg Clatworthy;


1978—Gregg Clatworthy; 1979—Gregg Clatworthy.


1980—Jeff Riley; 1981—Steve Babcock; 1982—Gregg Clatworthy; 1983—Gregg Clatworthy;


1984—Gregg Clatworthy; 1985—Chris Pastore; 1986—Jeff Bruegger; 1987—Jeff Bruegger;


1988—Jeff Bruegger; 1989—Mike Sipe.


1990—Mike Sipe; 1991—Mike Sipe; 1992—Chris Pastore; 1993—Jeff Bruegger; 1994—Jeff


Bruegger; 1995—Chris Pastore; 1996—Chris Pastore; 1997—Brent Kern; 1998—Chris Pastore;


1999—Brad Bohlman; 2000—Chris Pastore; 2001—Brad Bohlman; 2002—Ryan Coffey;


2003—Matt Behm; 2004—Chris Pastore; 2005—Travis Marting; 2006—Matt Behm; 2007—Sam


Van Galder; 2008—Brad Bohlman; 2009—Matt Behm.


2010—Sam Van Galder; 2011—Matt Behm; 2012—Sam Van Galder; 2013—Sam Van Galder;


2014—Matt Behm; 2015—Sam Van Galder. 2016—Sam Van Galder.



Jan Hoffman (9 titles)—1961, 1962, 1963, 1964, 1965, 1967, 1968, 1970, 1975.


Gregg Clatworthy (7)—1973, 1977, 1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1984.


Chris Pastore (7)—1985, 1992, 1995, 1996, 1998, 2000, 2004.


Harold Kotwitz (6)—1952, 1956, 1958, 1959, 1960, 1974.


Sam Van Galder (6)—2007, 2010, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2016.


Jeff Bruegger (5)—1986, 1987, 1988, 1993, 1994.


Matt Behm (5)—2003, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2014.



7:00 AM 1 Johnathan Milner, Sam Van Galder, Erik Botts, Bentley Glass


7:00 AM 10 Brian Angileri, Ryan Coffey, Matt Kempfer, Andrew Morrison


7:10 AM 1 Michael Oellerich, Connor Perkins, Kevin Riley, Bobby Kennedy


7:10 AM 10 Joe Lange, Michael Kletzien, Aaron Coffey, Brian Brieske


7:20 AM 1 Tanner Woodman, Rick Berry, Jose Perez, Jason Collas


7:20 AM 10 Jon Phillips, Gary Merk, Dale Bladorn, Jordan Manthey


7:30 AM 1 Mike Johnson, Steve Caya, King Clark, Tom Ellis


7:30 AM 10 Aaron Phalin, Shannon Riley, Mark Thomsen, Jimmy Mead


7:40 AM 1 Jeff Adams, Joseph Kapugia, Nikolas Sitter, John Bauer


7:40 AM 10 Kevin DeLap, Jordan Moss, Pat Kennedy, Brent Corey


7:50 AM 1 Paul Burkholder, David Adler, Jake Hassinger, Brent Kern


7:50 AM 10 Philip Konkol, Ken Kulinski, Mike Oliver, Daniel Thomsen


8:00 AM 1 Chris Koppa, Rob Ackerman, Brady Farnsworth, Greg Mullen


8:00 AM 10 Sal Gomez, Wade Hanson, Terry Kletzien, Jon Moldenhauer


8:10 AM 1 Brad Schumacher, Tyler Schwenkner, Mitchell Thurner, Nick English


8:10 AM 10 Matthew Frank, Steve Thurner, Henry Chacon, Jim Crawford


8:20 AM 1 Drew Siefert, Jeremy Zahn, Steven Wagner, Jay Gorman


8:20 AM 10 Jordan Hansen, Ned Moser, Joel Chappelle, Lyle Rasmussen


8:30 AM 1 Todd Cullen, Nolan Moran, Bill Hess, Sam Kisting


8:30 AM 10 David Palan, Steve Thompson, Tom Flora, Jim Tullis


8:40 AM 1 Bob Logan, Aaron Vogel, Jeff DeGarmo, Scott Blegen


8:40 AM 10 David Botts, Jeff Luek, Matt Runde, Tim Cullen


8:50 AM 1 Matt DeWitt, Jason Nelson, Larry Kotwitz


8:50 AM 10 Wayne Yearwood, Wayne Hansen, David Martin


9:00 AM 1 Dan Bloom, Brian Siefert, Connor Kelly


9:00 AM 10 Dylan Benway, Nigel Davies, Chris Crosby

Last updated: 8:11 pm Thursday, July 27, 2017

Comments Comments Print Print